Home/Find/Databases
Databases 2018-01-02T12:04:38+00:00

Databases

Databases are gold mines for finding articles, eBooks and much more.

Through the databases, you can access articles, eBooks, proceedings and other research material on your topic.

Don’t know where to start? Try Discover! because it simultaneously searches almost all of our databases or Publication Finder – it allows you to search or browse all publications made available to you by LIT Library. Don’t forget to check the encyclopedia Britannica!

Please note: Microsoft Windows 10 and Microsoft Edge/ IE 11 are currently incompatible with several electronic library databases. This may appear as a blank page when you click on a link to a database.
Solution: Try another browser such as Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome (both are free, and work well with the library’s website and databases).

Academic Search Ultimate (New) 2018-01-15T12:48:29+00:00

New!
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOHost)
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from Animal science, Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Ethnic and multicultural studies, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Physics, Psychology, Science and technology, Women’s studies and more.

Database Information
Tutorials

Art, Design & Architecture Collection 2018-01-09T15:01:28+00:00

Art, Design and Architecture Collection (ProQuest)
Art, Design and Architecture Collection is a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes:

  • Collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women’s studies.
  • the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history)

Guides

Britannica Online 2018-01-09T14:50:03+00:00

Britannica Online Academic Edition
Britannica Online® delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research all from one resource.

Britannica Academic Guided Tour

Business Source Complete 2018-01-03T10:38:31+00:00

Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost)
Business Source Complete is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

Database Information
Tutorials

Cfile (on-campus access) 2017-11-16T13:29:29+00:00

Cfile (on-campus access)

A Daily Publication for Contemporary Ceramic Art + Design.
CFile is a global community of cutting-edge educators, ceramics creatives, critics, curators, collectors, dealers, and brilliant young techies.
It covers eBooks, exhibition catalogues, conference reports, artist biographies and a physical journal in the area of ceramics and pottery.

dawsonera 2018-01-09T14:44:24+00:00

dawsonera
eBook platform which provides access to academic books from the world’s leading publishers, across all disciplines and subjects. LIT Library owns 160 titles in the subject fields of computer science & information, philosophy and psychology, social sciences, science, technology, arts, energy, finance, forensics, media technology.

Dawsonera Help Page

Ebook Central 2018-01-09T15:04:46+00:00

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
ProQuest Ebook Central provides more than 140,000 full text, scholarly eBooks, supporting all academic subject areas – anthropology, business & economics, computers & IT, education, engineering & technology, fine arts history, language & literature, law, life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, psychology, religion, social sciences.
Most of eBooks can be downloaded for off-line use.

Help
Guide

Emerald Insight 2017-11-16T13:32:03+00:00

Emerald Insight

Emerald Insight provides full text access to journals in the subject areas of Management, Engineering, Business, Human Resources, Organization, Information & Knowledge, Marketing, Logistics, Health and Social Care.

GreenR 2017-11-16T13:33:30+00:00

GreenR – Global Reference on the Environment, Energy and Natural Resources
A database which combines academic journals, case studies and news. Subject coverage includes energy, resource management, science and technology, environment and ecology, economics and trade to name but a few.

IEEE / IET Electronic Library 2018-01-09T14:41:25+00:00

IEEE / IET Electronic Library
A powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
IEEE Xplore provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world’s most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

Video Tutorials
User Guides

IHS Technical Indexes 2017-11-16T13:35:06+00:00

IHS Technical Indexes

Construction, Health & Safety Database. Includes British and Irish standards.

Not available through Discover! search.

ISURV 2017-11-29T13:56:46+00:00

ISURV
A key resource for property professionals, brought to you by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. Provides access to: RICS standards, best practice commentary, key cases, sample forms and precedents and much more.
Not available through Discover! search.

Justis 2017-11-16T13:42:01+00:00

Justis

A full text online legal library of UK, Irish and EU case law dating back to 1163 and legislation from 1235.

LexisLibrary 2017-11-16T13:53:42+00:00

LexisLibrary

With LexisLibrary lawyers and information professionals can quickly find up-to-date information, resources and expert opinion from established names such as Butterworths, Tolley and Halsbury’s.

National Standards Authority of Ireland (New) 2018-01-18T15:44:38+00:00

New!
National Standards Authority of Ireland

The NSAI (National Standards Authority of Ireland) database provides full access to all Irish (I.S.), all European (EN) and all International (ISO) Standards.
The NSAI database can be accessed on campus as well as from offsite.

User Guide and Help

Searching for Standards within i2i Solutions Platform

Nexis 2018-01-02T11:02:07+00:00

Nexis
The world’s largest and most trusted collection of news, company, people, industry, regulatory and legal content taken from 35,000 sources – newspapers, trade magazines, company databases, market
reports – from 1975 to present day, covering all the world’s major and emerging markets.

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition 2018-01-03T10:45:02+00:00

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCOHost)
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily-searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work. Contents includes: full text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations or theses; and retrospective coverage as far back as 1982.
Subject coverage includes art, agriculture, applied science, business, current events, education, general science, humanities, law, library sciences, social sciences, technology, and many other fields.

Database Information
Tutorials

Regional Business News 2018-01-03T10:46:27+00:00

Regional Business News (EBSCOHost)
With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional US and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text from more than 80 sources.

Database Information
Tutorials

ScienceDirect 2017-11-16T15:42:20+00:00

ScienceDirect

Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. Extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
LIT Library has also access to 250 eBooks in the following collections: Business, Management, Hospitality and Tourism, Computer Science, Energy, Finance, Forensics, Media Technology

SocINDEX with Full Text 2018-01-03T10:49:56+00:00

SocINDEX with Full Text  (EBSCOHost)

SocINDEX with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

Database Information
Tutorials

SPORTDiscus with Full Text 2018-01-03T10:57:13+00:00

SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOHost)
This is the most comprehensive, full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals and providing full text for hundreds of journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, several hundred are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
Subject areas covered include: biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine.
With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature.
Content Includes: Full text for more than 530 journals, Books, Book chapters, Conference proceedings Journal and magazine articles.

Database Information
Tutorials

TaxFind 2017-12-13T11:48:06+00:00

TaxFind
Taxfind Premier Online. TaxFind is a comprehensive electronic database of the primary sources of Irish tax law, commentary and practice assembled in one easy-to-use system.
TaxFind gives you access to: ITI tax legislation books, ITI tax commentary books, Irish Tax Review journal archive, selected Irish and ECJ tax case judgments, Appeal Commissioners’ determinations from the year 2000, proceedings of world tax conferences and revenue material.

Not available through Discover! search.

The Case Centre 2017-12-13T11:46:24+00:00

The Case Centre
An independent, not-for-profit organisation dedicated to promoting the case method in business education and sharing our world-leading knowledge and expertise in case teaching, writing and learning.

The UK/Ireland Reference Centre 2017-11-16T15:45:17+00:00

The UK/Ireland Reference Centre (EBSCOHost)
Combines British & Irish sources (including: magazines, newspapers, and reference books) with international sources to create the most complete collection of full-text research publications for UK/Irish public libraries.
The Encyclopedia of Britain and the Encyclopedia of Ireland are included in this collection.

Westlaw IE 2017-11-16T15:48:21+00:00

Westlaw IE
Ireland’s leading supplier of quality legal information. Instant access to Irish reported and unreported case law, legislation, journals and legal news.

Not available through Discover! search.

Westlaw UK 2017-11-30T10:41:15+00:00

Westlaw UK
Westlaw UK is providing a wealth of leading UK, EU, US and International content, combined with a highly sophisticated online platform, it delivers a fast, precise and intuitive research experience. Westlaw UK is uniquely tailored to cater for the legal profession’s requirement for outstanding information and knowledge management.
(For off-campus access – username and password required: ask at library issue desk)

Not available through Discover! search.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close